Endo diet

Hi everyone, hope you all had a lovely weekend. Thanks for all the comments and stories. Please continue to help generate more awareness about endometriosis among African women.

I would like to focus on endometriosis diet today. If you are like me and you have a sweet tooth, it’s time to have a rethink about what that cake or ice cream is costing you. Changing what you eat can help reduce endo symptoms i.e pain, inflammation, cramps, bloating, estrogen levels, toxins etc. Overall, it can help reduce weight-estrogen is stored in fat and endometriosis is fed by estrogen. The symptoms of endo respond very well to diet changes based on chemical reactions in the body.

Foods to avoid

Refined carbs- this includes white bread( agege bread for my Naija sisters!), cakes and all types of pastries, white rice, pasta, muffins, bagels etc. These foods have been processed with the addition of artificial chemicals and sugars and are known to cause weight gain and aggravate the symptoms of endo.

Caffeine and alcohol- Caffeine is found in tea, coffee and soft drinks and it increases estrogen levels. Excessive consumption of alcohol places massive strain on the liver which is the organ responsible for flushing out toxins eg estrogen.

Wheat- this includes all of the foods in refined carbs mentioned above and it makes endo symptoms worse.

Chocolate and refined sugar- sugar causes an inflammatory reaction and creates a more acidic environment in the body which causes the inflammation of endo.

Other foods include all fried foods, dairy produce, soy products, all types of red meat ( cow/ goat/ lamb meat, bacon, pork, sausages) ,packaged products which can contain additives and preservatives etc. This list is by no means exhaustive so please do more research. Added to all these are your typical Naija food like garri, black and white amala, pounded yam, fufu, jollof rice/ fried rice ( l dare anyone to cook jollof or fried rice with brown rice!), agege bread and ewa agoyin, egusi stew, efo stew( with 10 lives!) asaro and designer stew etc.  Hmm, my mouth is watering now so l better stop! It’s pretty depressing, l know. I don’t know about you but these are the types of food l grew up with. My mother was a typical African woman and she trained me well in that department . I grew up to know that the way to a man’s heart is through his stomach and l must say my husband loves me very well; the look on his face when he’s eating says it all! The hardest part of this is l still have to cook all these for him without eating it myself.  He’s as fit as a fiddle by the way according to the latest hospital check up he had . I’ve even tried these foods in moderation after my weight loss but my body just couldn’t deal with it. Hence, l had to adapt to the endo diet ( well, most of the time anyway).

So what types of food can we actually eat? More on the diet later. Thanks for reading and please do tell if you are on any kind of endo diet and how it has worked for you.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Endo diet

  1. opeoluwa says:

    I got this wordpress addy thru stella’s blog…and I v been reading thru it 4 a while now. I am a Nigerian and I live in Nigeria too…I have always had painful cycles since I started menstruating…and its usually heavy flow. I used a pain relief drug (ibucap) so much,I developed ulcer. Pending my NYSC,I work in a hospital (laboratory dept) and so I am intouch with doctors and a gynaecologist especially…after my last painful cycle (painful cos I was told not to use ibucap anymore as I have ulcer now) I saw d gynae…he said I myt v underlining features of pcos(polysystic ovarian syndrome) I v hairgrowth all over my body luckily 4m,I don’t v beard or chest hair,my estrogen level is obviously high(and y wldnt it,I practically eat/love every food u mentioned in d anti endo-diet),I v had breast lump removal b4 and I discovered a breast lump in each breast though minute but they are there .I did a pelvic scan and thankfully no ovarian cyst was seen. I just wanna b a part of this cos its somewhat related to me,maybe not entirely…fertility issues in marriage is one of my biggest fears. To this blogger,I say a word of prayer for u each time I read ds blog…God will grant you children,your own children very soon.

    • Thanks a lot for commenting, Opeoluwa. Amen to that prayer. PCOS can be very frustrating as there’s no cure for it too but treatment can control the symptoms. I hope you are getting the required treatment as quickly as possibly now esp as you are now working in a hosp lab. Changing your diet can be a good way to start as being overweight increases the amt of insulin your body produces. Too much insulin contributes to increased testosterone which prevents normal ovulation and under developed follicles ( culled from NHS website)
      I pray the breast lumps are benign because you have had some removed before. When it’s time for you to bear children, you will conceive on time and have as many as your heart desires in Jesus Name. Pls start treating it NOW.

      • opeoluwa says:

        Thanks for the response. I am working on d diet but its quite difficult considering the nigeria environment…do u have any treatment in mind?

      • I know how frustrating it can be to get help in Nigeria because of lack of awareness of these diseases. I’ve been checking online and the only hospital l can find so far that mentioned PCOS on their website is University of Nigeria Teaching Hospital, Enugu( l stand to be corrected) and that info is quite sketchy .
        Do you live in Lagos? How easy is it for you to travel? Have you tried to find out if hospitals in your area can treat PCOS? What about that gynaecologist ? What treatments has he recommended? He might be able to refer you to a hospital that can treat this . Pls keep me posted . God bless

      • opeoluwa says:

        Thanks a lot…i can’t say I have pcos yet because no cyst was found in my ovaries. I think now,I have to work on my diet and menstrual cramps…God bless you

      • olly says:

        Pcos is majorly as a result of sudden weight gain. Try loose weight and u can try clomid. Alot of fake in circulation though.

      • Thanks for the suggestion, Olly. I’m sure Opelouwa will appreciate this .

      • opeoluwa says:

        Thank you Olly…I really do appreciate it
        God bleSs us all

  2. OmoMakun says:

    my sister if you’re avoiding all these foods, what do you eat o?

    • Hmm, good question my sister. I had to retrain myself o. I eat mainly beans( without palm oil), veg, fish , nuts etc. Will give the comprehensive list in the concluding part of the post . However, this is my own experience and it’s working for me. Please consult your doctor before embarking on any dietary plan

  3. Tolu says:

    Hello guys,where do I start? I didn’t want to get myself involved in this but somehow each time I read your comment on bellanaija about writing your endostories on this website,I usually have a cringe.Hmmm for me its a long story of endometriosis,1fibroid then later 2 and after sometime plus cyst.It’s been hell for me since 2008.I don’t want to go into the nitty-gritty of medical routines from scan-laparoscopy-chinese acupuncture abroad.
    God is the answer guys,I gave up at one point and intensified my prayer and fasting approach and most importantly my sensitivity in the spirit.To cut the long story short,the Holyspirit showed me something in my dream,and my life changed since October 2013.I cut off from dairy products,sugar and flour but not everythin you listed.I take the tea revealed to me 4times a day.pls contact me if u are interested,I’m not a gynae there4 No CHARGES,cus it was given to me freely.But I would like to talk with you so I can give u specific instructions and ask you questions relating to my experience.(Contact-08097061130)

    • Thanks for the tip, Tolu! My Endo sisters, please call her up if you are interested and don’t forget to consult your doctor before you start any changes to your treatment or diet .
      God bless you, Tolu.

Leave a Reply

