Adoption-something to ponder over(pt 2)

Hi everyone. I still find it hard to believe Nelson Mandela is gone although he had been ill for a while. A legend is gone but his legacy will live forever. Goodnight, Mandiba.

Ever since the elderly sister in church mentioned adoption a few weeks ago, l have been turning it over in my mind. Before then, l have hardly given it a second thought. An older cousin did mention it a few years ago but l just dismissed there and then. After all, this cousin has 3 children of her own so it was easy for her to say. You know how it is when people feel they can give you advice on how to run your life because their life is seemingly perfect. I was also recently diagnosed then and still fairly young so l felt it didn’t apply to me. Looking back now, l realised l was too hasty in that conclusion . Maybe God was trying to tell me something then through my cousin but l was too blinded by my pain and self-assurance to see it. So what does God say about adoption in the Bible? I’ve looked at several adoption bible verses and the following are my favourite:

Exodus 2vs10- And the child grew, and she brought him unto Pharaoh’s daughter and he became her son. And she called his name Moses and she said , Because l drew him out of the water- KJV

Esther 2vs7- And he brought up Hadassah, that is Esther, his uncle’s daughter for she had neither father nor mother , and the maid was fair and beautiful, whom Mordecai , when her father and mother were dead, took for his own daughter- KJV

And of course, let’s not forget that Jesus Christ was adopted by Joseph the carpenter as his own son as directed by the Holy Spirit- Matthew 1 vs18-25 KJV

As christians, we are all adopted into God’s family. When we accepted Jesus as our Lord and Saviour, God declared us His children so what is a more Christian act than a Christian married couple adopting a child who is in desperate need of a mother and father and who will raise that child in the way of the Lord. Adoption is not only the best answer for orphans and unwanted children but also for women going through fertility issues. There are numerous cases where such women have conceived naturally because they are no longer stressed about fertility and their focus is now on the adoption process or raising their adopted children. That elderly sister in church is a perfect example. She told me that she had prayed that God should stamp her name on the child that He had willed for her, whether biological or adopted. She cast her burden on Him and conceived naturally during the adoption process.

I don’t know what the new year will bring but that will be one of my prayer points. Whatever my hubby and l decide, we pray the Lord will stamp our names on the children He has willed for us, whether biological or adopted because we know His intentions towards us are good and not evil, to bring us to an expected end.  My endo sisters, whatever you decide, may His Will be done in your lives also, Amen. Thanks for reading.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Adoption-something to ponder over(pt 2)

  1. tgirl says:

    before ypu try adoption pls try surrogacy first

    meery christmas and may 2014 bring forth your heart desires

    • Amen and l wish you the same.
      Yes, adoption is just one option we are considering. May God guide us through.

      • hello says:

        Hello, I’m thinking ivf and adoption. I had an ectopic preg in 09 and haven’t gotten pregnant since then

      • I’m so sorry to hear that, sis. I can’t imagine the joy of conceiving only to be told that it is ectopic. IVF is a great option and so is adoption. Pls make it a prayer point for next year and God will guide you through, Amen
        Stay blessed and keep me posted.

      • hello says:

        Thanks, you sound like a sweetheart. I can’t afford ivf cycles at the moment. Dh is out of job. I’m looking at federal (teaching) hospitals, it’ll cost much lesser there just not sure about their level of experience. Mom thinks it’s too early to think ivf. Dh thinks it’s too early to think adoption but i’m so desperate!! I need my miracle and soon

      • God will definitely meet you at your point of need. Do not despair; pray for guidance, Sis

  2. Caligal says:

    I am so happy I stumbled across your blog today. It so refreshing reading about the perspective of a fellow Nigerian sister about endometriosis. I was diagnosed with endo 9 years ago. I have had three surgeries. I was able to manage my symptoms well until a year ago. It has been very difficult- from the severe pelvic pains (especially during my period), vomiting, mood swings to the lack of interest in doing things that I once enjoyed. This past year has been very trying for my husband and I. But in all, God has been extremely faithful. I will like to recommend a book that was given to me by a friend that was also diagnosed with endo- Supernatural Childbirth by Jackie Mize. This is an excellent book. It discusses God’s promises for women who desire to be mothers, it includes testimonies from other women, prayers, daily confessions, and pages of scriptures to build and /or strengthen faith during the journey of becoming a parent. I pray that God’s will be revealed in our lives, and may He grant us all our heart desires- Amen.

    • Unbelievable!!! I was just given the same book – Supernatural birth by my sister in law. You are so right sis. The book is an inspiration .
      Thanks so much for that prayer. God will meet us all at our point of need, Amen. Stay blessed sis

Leave a Reply

