More on alternative therapies

Hi everyone. Thank you for all the comments and stories. Your encouragements and support mean a lot.

It was a blessing to know the cyst had at least stopped growing. I didn’t know what l would have done if it had grown bigger since l can’t have any more operations. After the last operation, l went from using painkillers everyday to about 2 weeks in a month during my periods. This is because l normally developed premenstrual pain a few days before my period. I would have pain shooting down my lower back, thigh, leg and foot. I would also get chills and horrible headaches hence l would need painkillers. During my period, the pain would be concentrated in my lower abdomen. The minute my period stops, pain would radiate from the left side of my abdomen where the cyst is and this would go on for a few days.  As horrible as this sounds, l was relieved. I had “graduated” from being in pain everyday and using painkillers to 2 weeks in a month. That meant l could have a life. I could perform my duties as a wife; have a social life; have other interests etc.  Basically, l could live instead of surviving albeit it was only 2 weeks before the pain returns. So l had before period pain, during period pain and after period pain.

There was also bleeding between periods although there was no pain attached to this but it was still depressing to say the least. To this day, l still have extra sanitary towels in my bag( as well as painkilkers) just in case l was caught unawares. Sometimes, it might be mere spotting, sometimes full on period like bleeding. I remember back in 2010, there was a month l simply didn’t stop bleeding. It just went on and on switching from spotting to full bleeding and back again. I had thought chronic pain was horrible and soul draining; l didn’t realise things could get much worse. I still shed tears when l remember that time. My GP was helpless; l couldn’t have any more operations because it was too risky.Tests showed that l was slightly anaemic obviously because of blood loss and l was simply tired of taking hormonal treatments(I had been placed on Zoladex again after my operation to stop my periods but it also had side effects) . I wondered how much more my body could take. I felt faint, exhausted, tired and snapped at my hubby at any given opportunity.Surely, l couldn’t go like this for much longer, something had to give. Eventually, the bleeding stopped and l didn’t have a period the following month which was a blessing. We were still researching on alternative therapies then and this incident helped us make up our minds.

I started homeopathy in 2010 (my fear of needles made me waive acupuncture)  but it didn’t have much effect. I was given some tablets and oral liquid remedy. Like l mentioned earlier, it’s simply a treatment of “like cures like”- that a substance that causes certain symptoms can also help to remove those symptoms. It attempts to stimulate the body’s own natural healing capacity and it acts as a trigger for the body’s own healing forces. The medicines are made from plant , chemical, mineral or animal sources and the original material is diluted then shaken vigorously. The number of times this is repeated determines the potency of the remedy. There are several NHS homeopathic hospitals in the UK but l went private to save time. It cost me about £50 for an initial consultation and the drugs were about £10 each. After several months, l realised it wasn’t working for me. The pain did reduce a bit but it was still quite painful and l was still experiencing some spotting. I wanted a treatment that was much more effective for me so l decided to overcome my fear of needles once and for all.

Will talk more on this tomorrow. I would just like to say the fact that homeopathy didn’t work for me doesn’t mean it might not work for another sister out there. It’s available in some NHS hospitals. It’s also available in Nigeria as well- Federal College of Complementary and Alternative Medicine of Nigeria. My other african sisters, please carry out research in your different countries. Knowledge is crucial in battling and hopefully, conquering this disease. Thanks for reading.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

