My endometriosis story pt1

Hi everyone.  I would like to defer posting about alternative therapies today in favour of this poignant story sent in by a blog visitor. This young sister has been and is still going through so much and l’m extremely touched by her courage to share her story. Please include her in your prayers

Hi,

I just went through your blog. Saw the ad on Linda lkeji’s blog on one of the comments and decided to check it out. I am deeply touched by your story and the strength and courage you have. It gives me hope.

I am a 21 yr old Nigerian presently studying in England for my Bsc. Ever since l started having my periods at 14, they have always been extremely painful and heavy. I wouldn’t be able to stand or walk, always had unstable body temperatures( one minute l’d be extremely hot and sweating profusely, the other l would be extremely cold and shivering and would have to cover myself with 2 or 3 duvets at a time) and also throwing up and losing my appetite. In general, l was always a wreck and would have to miss school or any activity for that period. I also couldn’t go by without taking drugs and not something mild like paracetamol( it never worked for me) but something really strong like Cataflam. That was the only way l could survive my periods as the pain was severe. I was told that it was normal because my mum suffered the same thing when she was little and that it would generally decrease with time but mine never did. Till this day, l still have excruciating pain and heavy periods and can’t live without my drugs during my period

Sometime last year, l started having severe sharp pains on my right side and went to see my GP. They told me at first that it was a grumbling appendix. After several visits(up to a year) to the GP and hospital for the same pain and several different diagnoses, they eventually found out that l had a cyst (3cm) on my right ovary but sent me home without anything; no surgery, pain reliever, nothing. The pain was constant for several months thereafter. It would come at anytime and whenever it started, l knew all plans l had for that day had to be cancelled because l wouldn’t be able to move or stand. Any movement l made with my body just made the pain worse. I wouldn’t be able to stand upright if l tried to, l would be bent over in pain. I was in severe pain, crying sometimes and couldn’t do anything to help myself so l would just lie stiff on my bed on my left side. I couldn’t even go to the GP at that point because the pain was so severe l could not afford to stand. Needless to say, this affected my schooling.

To be concluded tomorrow. Thanks for reading and please remember this young sister in your prayers.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to My endometriosis story pt1

  1. toby says:

    Sometimes it feels so good to know u aint d only person going thru a particular .Due to the severe pains i always go through every month,i had to go for a scan too and 2 Lil cyst were found at my right….my gynaecologist said that it wouldn’t cause such pains…I don’t feel the right sided pain no more but the menstrual pains are crazy….now i just knock my self out with a mild opioid.hoping to go for another scan..My gynaecologist suspects endometriosis too.it’s so difficult to accept such diagnosis…but the other symptoms I v strongly suggests endometriosis… My bf is a doctor and thinks its endometriosis……starting OCPs ds december………I would do anything to stop the pains,i go thru every month and avoid the complication of endometriosis….

    • I can completely relate with you on the pain, Toby. You are not alone and we will eventually overcome this. Pls ensure you have a proper diagnosis though because the earlier the diagnosis, the better the chances you have in treating it. At least, going on the pill will help alleviate the pain.Stay strong, sis.

  2. melbowman says:

    Reblogged this on Our Hystories and commented:
    I am still trying to post stories of others experiences with hysterectomies or other related issues. Here’s one today that you may want to check out.

  3. anigold says:

    Hi, am glad I came across this blog through RML. I started having severe pains with my menses ever since I started. And never suspected it to be anythg serious. However, when I got married I started having intense pains when sensing and aggravated inflammation that starts from my left stomach through my thigh and legs. I explained to my doctor( an experienced gnae) that it could Endo but he rebuffed it. I took to google and started findings on the symptoms I usually had and discovered it’s Endo. it has not been easy managing the pain cos my libido just goes AWOL sometimes and I know I naturally have a high libido. I used some alternative medicines that worked and also try to avoid some of the things that trigger the inflammation especially sugar or anything sugary. It’s not easy cos ama sweet tooth but God has been giving me the grace.i also ensure I always take green tea to detoxify, eat a lot of fresh fruits and vegetables. I also take Royal jelly product by FLP. Pls remember me in ur prayers as am still believing God for a child after 6 yrs.

    • You are so right about the diet, sis. It really helps in reducing inflammation and estrogen levels. I have a sweet tooth too and l know how hard it can be to control but it has to be done.
      I’ve read about Royal Jelly though l haven’t tried it. Good to know it’s working for you. 6 years might seem a long time but God hasn’t forgotten. He sees your pain and tears and will surely make you smile very soon. I know all too well how hard this can be but we cannot give up hope because He did it for Anna and Sarah in the bible. He’ll DEFINITELY do it for us. Will keep you in my prayers. Stay blessed

Leave a Reply

