Acupuncture relief

Hi everyone. Thank you all so much for your stories and comments. They were much appreciated. Please keep them coming

After my 3rd operation in 2009, my husband and l decided to avoid hospitals for a while and seek alternative therapy. At this point, our parents were understandably worried and very concerned. In Nigerian culture, if you haven’t given birth within a year of marriage, there’s a problem. In 3 years, it is a catastrophe. My mother especially was beside herself with worry. Like l mentioned in an earlier post, childlessness was unheard of in her family. Infact, her family has history of twins( my mother and my grandmother had twins who died in infancy) so naturally, she never expected me to have fertility problems. I felt then as if l had disappointed her even though she and my father had always given me their unwavering support, encouragement and prayers. Of course, l knew it wasn’t my fault that l had this horrible disease but l couldn’t help but think l had let them down. It took me a long time to get over that feeling.

Anyway, we decided to seek alternative therapy. TCM- traditional chinese medicine- includes various forms of herbal medicine, acupuncture, massage and dietary therapy. It is based on traditions developed in China over 2000 years ago. There’s also homeopathy created by a German physician- Samuel Hahnemann. It is based on the belief that  a substance that causes the symptoms of a disease in healthy people will cure similar symptoms in sick people. We decided to focus on herbal medicine and acupuncture though l still tried homeopathy. In the UK, the British Acupuncture Council is the main regulatory body for the practice of traditional acupuncture. We found several practitioners registered with them so we read the reviews of their patients to find out how they helped manage endometriosis. I have tried over 4 practitioners of acupuncture and believe it or not, it seems to be working for me.

Acupuncture involves penetration of the skin with needles to stimulate certain points of the body because according to traditional Chinese medicine, stimulating specific acupuncture points corrects imbalances in the flow of energy around the body. Now l have to say at this point that l absolutely loathe needles and injections. It took me months to work up my nerves to start the treatment but it was actually quite painless. I have been on it on and off for the past 3 years and permanently since July and l must say my pain has been greatly reduced. My last scan showed the cyst is still at 7cm since 2009 which is nothing short of a miracle since it had always grown aggressively within months in the past.

More on alternative therapies tomorrow. Thanks for reading.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

